If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Maslow's hierarchy of needs

Maslow's hierarchy of needs, developed by psychologist Abraham Maslow, outlines five levels of human needs: physiological, safety, love, self-esteem, and self-actualization. Each level must be fulfilled before moving to the next, starting from basic survival needs up to reaching one's full potential. This theory is crucial for understanding human motivation. Created by Shreena Desai.

Want to join the conversation?

  • male robot hal style avatar for user Wudaifu
    Why is there the redundancy of having 2 videos on Maslow's hierarchy of needs, one under "Theories of personalities" and this one under "Motivation and attitudes"?
    (0 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • male robot johnny style avatar for user chg90
      I like the redundant videos on KA...I noticed they kinda order the videos in the same order the AAMC lists topics for the exam, which is very helpful to group topics together when trying to remember so much information. And sometimes KA is just trying to tie in other MCAT topics to "bridge the gap," like the +/- feedback video in relation to motivation...getting us to think how the question-makers would think.
      Plus if you notice, they don't make you watch the video a second time...it automatically jumps to the end or whenever you stopped it when viewing it in a previous section. IMO a just a nice way to group some of the topics together.
      (8 votes)
  • piceratops ultimate style avatar for user tian1di2 jax
    why isn't the need for recognition a social need vs respect? for example, the intrinsic value of my many accomplishments far outweigh any rewards or public recognition from others.
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • leafers ultimate style avatar for user ff142
    I don't necessarily agree with Maslow's hierarchy of needs
    (0 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • duskpin tree style avatar for user Austin
    There are two different videos for the same topic they say the same stuff but write different stuff and occasionally say different stuff why is that?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user

Video transcript

Voiceover: Building off the five approaches in understanding motivation, or the five schools of thought like we talked about in the last video, let's take a deeper look at Maslow's hierarchy of needs. So it's actually broken down into, into a pyramid that looks just like this. This was created by a famous psychologist named Abraham Maslow. So Maslow said that we have needs that need to be fulfilled in a specific order. It has to start from the bottom of the pyramid, all the way to the top. So our most basic need is our physiological need. And that forms the foundation or base of this pyramid. So our physiological needs can include anything from food, water, breathing and sleep. All of these are essential needs to survive. Moving up, the second level is our need for safety. So, safety of resources, safety of employment, and health and property. Safety is a basic need also, but it can only be fulfilled once our physiological needs are met. So, we can call these two levels the basic levels. Now Maslow went on to name a third level, and this is our level of love. Our need for love. It's our need to belong. Our need to have acceptance from friends and family. And our need for intimacy. This level of needs is called our social needs. The fourth level is our need for self-esteem. We like to feel confident and have a sense of achievement in what we do. We look for recognition in competence of skill that gives us self confidence. So these needs fall under a level of respect. We like to gain respect from others when we reach this level but again, this can only occur if the three needs below, physiological, safety, and love are fulfilled, and now we've come to the top. This last level is called self-actualization. It's a really big word but Maslow describes it as one reaching their maximum potential. It's a desire to accomplish everything one can do and become the most one can be. And this differs from person to person obviously. For example, one we have is strong desire to become an ideal parent, or an ideal athlete, or an ideal artist. Maslow thought self-actualizers were moral to their own principles and had mastered all the needs that fall below, this one. This level is our level of full potential. So think of this as climbing Mount Everest. You have to start at the bottom, but along the way you're going to have different checkpoints. All of these checkpoints are managed by different Sherpas on the mountain. You can't climb to the next level unless the Sherpa at the level you're at gives you the go ahead. He has to make sure you've eaten and gotten enough rest and are breathing okay. Then you can ascend to the next level and eventually, this keeps on going until you reach the top. Where you've realized your maximum potential. There you have it, Maslow's hierarchy of human needs.